The EarthByte Group was established within the School of Geosciences in 2002. Since then, the group has expanded to include 10 full-time academic staff members, 2 full-time software developers and administration support staff member. There are currently 14 postgraduate students and 6 honours students. A number of undergraduates also work as research assistants with the group.

The team is led by Prof Dietmar Müller and Associate Prof Patrice Rey. The EarthByte group has a strong collaborative research base, both nationally and internationally. Research collaborations include over 30 researchers from Asia, Oceania, Europe and North America, and two overseas software developers.


Group Coordinators

Academic Staff

Centre of Translational Data Science Collaborators

PhD/Masters Candidates

Honours and Graduate Diploma Students 2018

Name Email

Past Honours Students

Summer Scholarship Students 2017

Research Assistants

Past Visiting Scientists

Name Email
Dr Eline Le Breton Free University of Berlin
A/Prof Kirsten Nicolaysen Whitman College

Visiting Overseas Students

Past Visiting Overseas Students

Name Organisation
Xianzhi Cao Ocean University of China
Megan Korchinski The University of Minnesota
Qiuge Wang China University of Geoscience
Yongliang "Leo" Bai China University of Petroleum
Shan Yu Ocean University of China
Paul Wessel University of Hawai'i

Past Visiting Students

Name Organisation
Li Wan The University of Queensland

Software Developers

 Past EarthByte Technical and Academic Staff

Name Email
Ian Howson
Dr Rakib Hassan Geoscience Australia


 Australian Collaborators

Name Organisation
Dr Juan-Carlos Afonso Macquarie University
Dr Nathaniel Butterworth Astronomy Section - Ayers Rock Resort
Prof Mike Coffin University of Tasmania
Prof Alan Collins University of Adelaide
Dr Karol Czarnota Geoscience Australia
Dr Rhodri Davies Australian National University
Prof Chris Elders Curtin University
Dr Des Fitzgerald Intrepid Geophysics
Dr Nicolas Flament University of Wollongong
Dr Alexey Goncharov Geoscience Australia
Dr Stephen Hardy Data61/CSIRO
Dr Rakib Hassan Geoscience Australia
Dr Kevin Hill Oil Search
Dr Andy Hogg Australian National University
Dr Maral Hosseinpour The University of Sydney
Dr Thomas Landgrebe Image Processing and Vision Systems
Dr Kayla Maloney The University of Sydney
Prof Louis Moresi The University of Melbourne
Dr Simon O'Callaghan Data61/CSIRO
Dr Tim Rawling The University of Melbourne
Dr Paul Spence The University of New South Wales
Dr Daniel Steinberg Data61/CSIRO
Dr Joanne Whittaker The University of Tasmania

Overseas Collaborators

Name Orgnaisation
Dr Dan Bower ETH Zurich
Dr Sascha Brune GFZ Potsdam
Prof Nicolas Coltice Laboratoire de Géologie de Lyon
Dr John Conolly EGI Utah
Dr Lydia DiCaprio The University of Calgary
Dr Guillaume Duclaux The University of Bergen
Prof Simon George Macquarie University
Dr Karsten Gohl Alfred Wegener Institute
Prof Mike Gurnis Caltech
Prof Vicki Hansen The University of Minnesota
Dr Christian Heine Shell
Prof Kaj Hoernle GEOMAR
Prof Matthew Huber The University of New Hampshire
Prof Raymond Levy EGI Utah
Dr Lijun Liu The University of IllinoisJohn
Don Medwedeff Chevron
Peter Lovely Chevron
Prof Pascal Philippot IPG Paris
Dr Walter Roest Ifremer
Prof David Sandwell Scripps Institution of Oceanography
A/Prof Howie Scher The University of South Carolina
Dr Grace Shephard The University of Oslo
Dr Jakob Skogseid Statoil
Prof Paul Tackley ETH Zurich
Prof Christian Teyssier The University of Minnesota
Dr Yatheesh Vadakkeyakath National Institute of Oceanography
Prof Paul Wessel The University of Hawaii
Prof Donna Whitney The University of Minnesota
Dr Martina Ulvrova Laboratoire de Geologie de Lyon
Dr Judith Sippel GFGZ Potsdam

Deep Carbon Observatory (DCO) Collaborators

Name Organisation
Sascha Brune GFZ Potsdam
Artur Ionescu Babes-Bolyai University
Lotta Purkamo University of St Andrews
Mattia Pistone University of Lausanne
Micha Ruhl University of Oxford
Benjamin Tutolo University of Calgary
Tobias Keller University of Stanford
Jody Webster University of Sydney
Rohitash Chandra Centre for Translational Data Science
Nicky Wright Australian National University
Robert Hazen Carnegie Institution for Science
Shaunna Morrison Carnegie Institution for Science
Chao Liu Carnegie Institution for Science
Simone Runyon Carnegie Institution for Science
Donato Giovannelli Rutgers University
Will Leavitt Dartmouth College
Marshall Bowles Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium
Ery Hughes University of Bristol
Emily Mason University of Cambridge
Rhodri Davies Australian National University